top of page

Sheffield Concerts

Monday, February 3.

7.00pm. Winchester, MA. 





Serenade op. 10 for string trio                                                                                                                      Ernő von Dohnányi

       I. Marcia

       II. Romanza

       III. Scherzo

       IV. Tema con variazioni

       V. Rondo


Selected duos for two violas (originally for two violins)                                                                                   Béla Bartók


~  short break ~


String trio op. 9 N1 in G-major                                                                                                                       Ludwig van Beethoven

     I.  Adagio – Allegro con brio

     II. Adagio ma non tatto and cantabile

     III. Scherzo – Allegro

     IV. Presto



Markus Placci, violin

Annie Bartlett, viola

Alexander Vavilov, viola

Ying-Jun Wei, cello

Markus Placci, violin


             Praised as having “a magnificent personality, a superb energy, a total command and an extremely convincing taste” (La Libre Belgique), Italian violinist Markus Placci has perfomed solo concerts and recitals throughout Europe, the United States, South America and Asia in renowned venues such as the Great Philharmonic Hall in St. Petersburg (Russia), the Kursaal in Baden-Baden, the Teatro Monumental in Madrid, the Auditori in Barcelona, the Teatro Comunale and Mozart Hall in Bologna, the Teatro Dal Verme in Milan, the Kennedy Center in Washington, and the Richardson Auditorium in Princeton.


          Since his solo debut at age 13 with the Bologna Symphony, Mr. Placci has appeared in solo performances with major symphony orchestras like the Barcelona Symphony, the Radio Television Orchestra of Spain (RTVE), the Baden-Baden Philarmonie, Pomeriggi Musicali Orchestra Milan, Teatro San Carlo of Napoli Symphony, the St. Petersburg State Philharmonic (Russia), the Annapolis Symphony, among others. He has been broadcast live on BBC Radio, Bartok Radio Hungary, RaiRadio, RTV Espana, and is the winner of numerous international prizes such as the “Brahms Preis” in Germany, the “Jules C. Reiner Violin Prize” at Tanglewood, and the prestigious “XXVI Vittorio Veneto Biannual Competition” in Italy.


          Mr. Placci earned his B.M. from the Bologna Conservatory, his Graduate Performance Diploma and an Arist Diploma from The Boston Conservatory, and has studied extensively with Zakhar Bron (Lubeck, Germany) and Mela Tenenbaum (New York). In 2005 Mr. Placci world premiered with great acclaim the Violin Concerto by Spanish composer J. Cervello'  in Madrid, and in 2008 he was appointed as Violin Faculty at The Boston Conservatory.


          Markus Placci plays on a 1871 J.B. Vuillaume violin, copy of the “Alard” Stradivari.

Ying-Jun Wei, cello


           Originally from China, Ying-Jun Wei is in demand as a soloist across the world. She has performed in venues such as BuckinghamPalace, Wigmore Hall, Carnegie Hall, Tanglewood Music Festival and venues in SwitzerlandMexicoJapan, and China. Ying-Jun has appeared on BBC Radio as well as in numerous magazines and publications. Ying-Jun began the cello at age 10, winning first prize in The China Cello Competition at age 14. Following this accomplishment, Ying-jun was invited by the principal of the Royal Academy of Music to enroll at the Purcell School of Music in London on a full scholarship. Ying-Jun completed her studies at thePurcell School as a budding soloist who had already been seen on the major stages of England as well as a winner of the Purcell School Concerto Competition.


           In 2002 Ying-Jun was granted a full scholarship to attend the Royal Academy of Music, where she studied with world renowned cellist Colin Carr and graduated with the President’s Award. After completing her Masters degree at the Boston Conservatory, Ying-Jun continued her studies with the legendary cellist Bernard Greenhouse and received an Artist Diploma from Longy School of Music.


           Ying-Jun has played for Prince Charles, performed with Sir Colin Davis, Yo-Yo Ma and the London Soloists Orchestra, Yo-Yo Ma, and has worked closely with other classical music luminaries.

bottom of page